Beauty and the Beast

I am not exactly athletic but something I truly enjoy is walking. So while my friends opt for gym memberships I walk 4-5 km a day to keep healthy (no I do not own a fibit so you’ll never know for sure :p). But the point is I love taking in the world around me at a slow leisurely pace, while I ponder over, well, basically nothing. My mind remains completely devoid of worries and in the moment so to speak. This month we took a little family trip to Buxa National Park in West Bengal, India. The weather, however, wasn’t the best and it rained the entire time we were there, but we didn’t let that deter us from our plans of touring the Chilapata forest. Unfortunately, the only animal we saw were two forestry bred elephants. A peacock peahen took pity on us and graced us with her presence but the rest of the truly wild stayed firmly hidden in the shadows of the jungle. So when the guide suggested a 2 km hike through the forest to see the Raimatang river, we jumped at it.

img_2107

I really enjoyed the short hike. The narrow winding path was dangerous at times, slippery and muddy after the morning shower, sometimes getting really close to the cliff. It was a thrilling experience, I stopped quite a few times to look at things that caught my fancy. The contrast of colours in the leaves above seemed very interesting and so I went to take a closer look. It was then I presume that it happened, my bad luck struck again.I was oblivious of course for an hour and half after that until we shuffled into a roadside dhaba for lunch. I ran my hand through my hair to get rid of a sudden itchy feeling and out the little guy fell smack dab in the middle of the dining table for everyone to see- a leech. All hell broke loose. The other patrons stared at me in a way that made me feel like a leper. I sunk down in my seat embarrassed when the waiter caught the creature and took it away.

While I had been cursing and complaining about how horrible the weather is, Mr Vampy had been happily sucking my blood. *shudders* . So I washed my bloody hair ASAP and sought comfort in a hot cup of tea.

The picture of the leaves suits the’Transmogrify‘ theme. But in hindsight I think the whole experience does. That said I see the humour in it now.

6 thoughts on “Beauty and the Beast

Add yours

  1. The picture of the contrasting leaves and of course your personal journey of transmogrification 😀 The leech experience must have been quite horrifying – although if you had put some salt on it, it would have dissolved into a little puddle – another transmogrification 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

